The SOMERSET Book Awards for Literary, Contemporary, and Satire Fiction – the Long List for the 2019 CIBAs

Listen to or download this article:

The SOMERSET Book Awards recognize emerging talent and outstanding works in the genre of Literary, Contemporary, and Satire Fiction. The Somerset Book Awards is a genre division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards (The CIBAs).


Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring contemporary stories, literary themes, adventure, satire, humor, magic realism or women and family themes. These books have advanced to the next judging rounds. The best will advance. Which titles will be declared as winners of the prestigious Somerset Book Awards?

The following literary, contemporary, and satire  fiction works have moved forward from the infamous Slush Pile to the Long List of the 2019 Somerset Book Awards:

  • Susan Dobson – The Sea Glass Road
  • Stephen F. Frost – The Alaskan Alibi
  • Joanne Jaytanie – Salvaging Truth, Hunters & Seekers, Book 1
  • Beth Burgmeyer – The Broken Road
  • Michael Aloysius O’Reilly – The Billionaire’s Daughter
  • Judith Kirscht – End of the Race
  • Leonide Martin – The Prophetic Mayan Queen: K’inuuw Mat of Palenque
  • John Herman – The Counting of Coup
  • R. Barber Anderson – The Sunken Forest, Where the Forest Came out of the Earth
  • Lou Dischler – Travel to Fierce Climes in Burning Buses
  • Domenick Venezia – Liberator Legacy
  • Larry Brill – Deja vu All Over Again
  • Domenick Venezia – Suriname Legacy
  • Domenick Venezia – Angel’s Salvation
  • Alexandrea Weis with Lucas Astor – Damned (A Magnus Blackwell Novel Book 1)
  • Donna LeClair – The Proprietor of the Theatre of Life
  • Bob Holt – Firebird
  • Gail Avery Halverson – The Skeptical Physick
  • Lis Anna-Langston – Crucifix Built for Two
  • Alison Ragsdale – The Art of Remembering
  • Dd Jaseron – Wheelboys
  • Janet K Shawgo – Legacy of Lies
  • Santiago Xaman – After Olympus
  • Sara Stamey – Pause
  • Patricia Averbach – Resurrecting Rain
  • Hannah Edington Tekle – Conflict
  • C. E. Porch – From the Halls of Cuba
  • Leanne Treese – The Language of Divorce
  • Maggie St. Claire – Martha
  • Ted Neill – Reaper Moon: Race War in the Post Apocalypse
  • Alexandrea Weis & Lucas Astor – Death by the River
  • Janet Olearski – A Traveller’s Guide To Namisa
  • Lisa Reddick – The Same River
  • Nick Mancuso – Fever
  • David Pearson – Upon a Peak in Darien
  • Jeanne McWilliams Blasberg – The Nine
  • Joanne Wilshin – The Findlings
  • Claire Fullerton – Little Tea
  • Jane Alessandrini Ward – Brilliant Rising
  • Theo Czuk – The Black Bottom: The Measure Of Man
  • Hy Brett – The Hitman of Avenue U
  • Mitchell Allen – Count It All Joy
  • Elizabeth Crowens – Dear Bernie, I’m Glad You’re Dead
  • Linda Bledsoe – Through the Needle’s Eye
  • Carl Roberts – The Trial of Connor Padget
  • Patrick Finegan – Cooperative Lives
  • Mike Murphey – Section Roads
  • Alison Ragsdale – The Art of Remembering
  • Jamie Zerndt – Jerkwater
  • Prue Batten – Passage
  • Nagihan Os – Hilda and Nadin: Dry Leaves in the Wind
  • Tikiri Herath – Abducted – A Red-Heeled Rebels novel
  • Kay Bell – Ella’s Secret Family Recipes
  • Patricia Suprenant – Journey to the Isle of Devils
  • St John Karp – Quake City
  • Michael Bowe – The Weight of a Moment
  • Lynn Brentnall – Hope
  • David B. Seaburn – Gavin Goode
  • Gary Driver – God Answers Science
  • Michael T. Tusa Jr – Chasing Charles Bukowski
  • James M Roberts – The Crossroads of Logan Michaels
  • Jarvis Cutter – Speak Loudly and Carry a Flamethrower
  • Adam Cliff – Exposure 

Good luck to all as these works compete to advance to the Shortlist! 

Information about the #CIBAs Long Lists and Short Lists and Announcement Rounds.

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the 2019 Long List (aka the Slush Pile Survivors). We incorporate the Long List when the judges request an additional round of judging to accommodate the number and/or quality of entries received.  These entries are now in competition for the 2019 SOMERSET SHORTLIST. The Shortlisters will compete for the Semi-Finalists positions.

The coveted First  Place Category Winners of the 2019 SOMERSET Book Awards will be selected from the Semi-Finalists in the final rounds of judging.  The First Place Category Winners will be announced at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony, which is hosted by the Chanticleer Authors Conference. 

The First Place Category winners will automatically be entered into the SOMERSET GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition. The 16 CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse. First Place Category and Grand Prize Awards will be announced and recognized at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 18th, 2020, Bellingham, Washington. Hosted by the Chanticleer Authors Conference.

We are now accepting entries into the 2020 CIBAs.

Don’t delay. Enter today!

2020-02-07T13:09:24-08:00By |

Leave A Comment