The Journey Book Awards recognize emerging new talent and outstanding works in the genre of Narrative Non-Fiction and Memoir. The Journey Book  Awards is a genre division of Chanticleer International Book Awards and Novel Competitions (CIBAs).


Chanticleer International Book Awards is looking for the best books featuring true stories about adventures, life events, unique experiences, travel, personal journeys, global enlightenment, and more. We will put books about true and inspiring stories to the test and choose the best among them.

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the 2019 JOURNEY Book Awards LONG LIST and have advanced to the 2019 JOURNEY Shortlist. The Short Listers will for the Semi-Finalists positions. The SemiFinalists will compete for the limited First Place Category Winners in the final rounds of judging. All Semi-Finalists will be recognized and CAC20.  The First Place Category Winners, along with the division grand prize winners, will be announced at the CIBAs Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 18th, 2020 at the luxurious Hotel Bellwether in Bellingham, Wash.

The following works have advanced to the 2019 Journey Book Awards for Narrative Non-Fiction

  • T.S. Lewis – The Why of War: An Unorthodox Soldier’s Memoirs
  • Susan Murphy – Toppled World
  • Anna Carner – Blossom ~ The Wild Ambassador of Tewksbury
  • Rebecca Faye Smith Galli – Rethinking Possible: A Memoir of Resilience
  • Maya Castro – The Bubble: Everything I Learned as a Target of the Political, and Often Corrupt, World of Youth Sports
  • Donna Hill – Yes, The World Is Round
  • Linda Gartz – Redlined: A Memoir of Race, Change, and Fractured Community in 1960s Chicago
  • John Hoyte – Persistence of Light
  • Nikki West – The Odyssey of the Chameleon
  • Chris Register – Conversations With US – Great Lakes States
  • Anthony Delauney – Owning the Dash
  • J. Bronson Haley – The Depth of Grace: Finding Hope at Rock Bottom
  • Jean-Philippe Soule – DANCING WITH DEATH: An Epic and Inspiring Travel Adventure
  • Julie MacNeil – The 50-Year Secret
  • David A. Bossert – Kem Weber: Mid-Century Furniture Designs for The Disney Studios
  • Whitney Elleby – Autism Uncensored: Pulling Back the Curtain
  • Judy Bebelaar and Ron Cabral – And Then They Were Gone: Teenagers of Peoples Temple from High School to Jonestown
  • Ted Neill – Two Years of Wonder
  • Anthony Suarez – Politically Indicted: The Real Story Behind the Jersey Sting
  • Dena Moes – The Buddha Sat Right Here: A Family Odyssey Through India and Nepal
  • Ryan M. Chukuske – Bigfoot 200: Because, You Know, Why the #@&% Not?
  • Laureen Pittman – The Lies That Bind: An Adoptee’s Journey Through Rejection, Redirection, DNA, and Discovery
  • Nancy Canyon – STRUCK: A Memoir
  • Carol E. Anderson – You Can’t Buy Love Like That: Growing Up Gay in the Sixties
  • Barbara Clarke – The Opposite of Hate
  • Juliet Cutler – Among the Maasai
  • Andy Chaleff – The Last Letter
  • John Egenes – Man & Horse: The Long Ride Across America
  • David Wienir – Amsterdam Exposed
  • Rod Baker – I Need my Yacht by Friday – True Tales from the Boat Repair Yard
  • Lance Brewer – Back Story Alaska
  • Lisa Dailey – Square Up
  • Julie L. Seely – Skinny House -A Memoir of Family
  • J. Bronson Haley – The Depth of Grace: Finding Hope at Rock Bottom
  • Patrick Hogan – Silent Spring – Deadly Autumn of the Vietnam War

These titles will compete for the 2019 Journey Semi-Finalists positions.

Good luck to all as your works move on the next rounds of judging.

Our next Chanticleer International Book Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday, April 18th, 2020, for the 2019 CIBA winners. Enter your book or manuscript in a contest today!

Chanticleer Authors Conference April 17th-19th 2020

Chanticleer Authors Conference 2020


We are now accepting entries into the 2020 Journey Book Awards, a division of the Chanticleer International Book Awards.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns, or suggestions at